TheCosbyKid

I'm not your regular Huxtable…

City of God

with 4 comments

City of God is honestly one of the best films I’ve seen in a while. The cinematography, the plot, and the actors go far and beyond what most movies even try to conquer. I first heard of City of God, when I did some research (wikipedia) on a brazilian television show that I was watching on the Sundance Channel (or IFC). What got me initially hooked was the multiracial cast, which promoted the diversity in Brazil and the “real” characters. It portrayed life in Brazil as it was and not as a fantasy. These kids had to deal with school, sex, drugs, murder and everything else  that were thrown at them in these favelas (brazilian ghettos).

City of God is a sort of “prequel” to the City of Men television show and the City of Men. It deals with the main character Rocket and his challenges of growing up in these favelas, but also to earn an honest living as a journalist. 

This is must SEE YT( Youtube ). Here is the first part of City of Men:

Written by thecosbykid

June 12, 2009 at 10:32 pm

Posted in Movie, My Life

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve watcehd City of God over 20 times and I still can’t get over it. This is my oersonal favourite movie of all time, and the fact that it’s based on a true story just gives it more depth and sustance, so 10 out of 10 from me!!

    Kepi Mngomezulu

    June 14, 2009 at 1:15 pm

  2. Oh, really? That’s news to me! Now that I know it’s based on a true story, I’m going to have to love it even more. Do you know whose story it’s based on?

    thecosbykid

    June 14, 2009 at 3:13 pm

  3. I saw this in my Latin America course. I’ll need to check out city of men now that I know that this movie was only a prequel. The multiracial cast you bring up is what struck me most as well. Particularly the pale red haired kid who seems completely out of place but seen as an equal to others in the favelas.

    dmsteffe4705

    December 5, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    • Totally in agreement. I’m not sure if that is how Brazil is like in real life, but the director seems to portray Brazil–or at least the city in which the characters live–as a racial utopia. You don’t hear much talk among the characters about race difference. This might be explained from the lack of monetary wealth of the characters. They are too worried about surviving the next day to indulge in racial issues. Sort of like how our ghettos and slums are like in America.

      thecosbykid

      December 6, 2009 at 4:55 pm


Leave a Reply

