TheCosbyKid

I'm not your regular Huxtable…

Things I Don’t Understand: Lady Gaga Hype

with 3 comments

First off, let me start by stating the fact that I’m not a hater. I don’t just come across things that are different from my perspective and just hate them. I try to understand where this dislike comes from; I even give them a chance sometimes and was proven wrong. For example, when the Arcade fire was garnering all this praise about being so creative and bringing a new interesting sound to the world of music; I was quick to blow them off. I listened to a few songs and didn’t understand the hype. My misunderstanding, though, didn’t stop all the critics love for the Canadian band. So, I gave them one more try to understand what the hoop-la was all about. And after laying on my concrete mattress in my dorm room and closing my eyes, I have Arcade Fire’s Neon Bible one more go through.

Afterwards, I felt like finally the apple had hit and I understood why people liked them so much. I, in turn, would download Funeral as well and Arcade Fire would soon be one of the most played artists in my iTunes.

But with every once of my being I can’t quite understand Lady Gaga’s fame. To me, if anything, she is a musical terrorist. Hijacking the best that out current major female artists have to offer and with all that creating a mediocre prototype. She’s taken Madonna’s and Christina Aguilera( circa X-Tina) overtly sexual behavior and tried to capitalize on that. Musically, she’s taken a lot from M.I.A., Gwen Stefani, and Fergie, and branded it as “GaGa”-ness. All her songs are mediocre pop songs. I, personally, love good pop songs. I am not ashamed to have Pieces of Me or Womanizer in my iTunes because they are actually good songs. “Just Dance” is a lame disco beat with even lamer lyrics. “Poker Face”, her latest single, is a little better but that only has to do with the production. The lyrics still have nothing that provokes any emotion from me, except for bewilderment that this song is one of the top 10 songs in the U.S.

The only thing I can truly say is her own creation is her fashion sense. It truly is new and interesting. She looks like a futuristic pin up model  and it’s fine for people to see that as fascinating.  But everything else…really? Okay, I’m done with my rant. Who knows though. I may end up liking her just like Arcade Fire. She is featured in Wale’s, my new favorite rapper, single Chillin’.

Written by thecosbykid

May 30, 2009 at 7:47 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Original post by thecosbykid […]

  2. In terms of music style, I definitely agree that there isn’t anything strikingly unique about Lady Gaga (well, when she originally surfaced the genre was somewhat unique, but now it’s like everything else out there)…but for the average person out there who doesn’t know too much about music, all they know is that she creates catchy hit songs that they like to party to. If this isn’t the reason they fall in love with her, then I’m assuming it has to be her eccentric, unique style that forces fans to distinguish her from other artists who have a style that “plays it safe”.
    Personally, I love Lady Gaga because her songs are catchy and I knew that when “Just Dance” came out last summer she would be a hit–she’s the type of artist that knows how to make hit singles that sell.

    April

    May 30, 2009 at 8:37 pm

  3. I totally agree that her songs are catchy. Even though I try to hate “Poker Face” with every ounce of my being, I still catch myself singing the chorus in my head. All I want is for her music to catch up with her style. She has that ability to become an icon, but I don’t see her music as being time-spanning. To me she might be one of those artists that you hear on the radio 10 years from now and you say “He remember when everybody loved that song, whatever happened to her?”

    thecosbykid

    May 30, 2009 at 8:55 pm


Leave a Reply

